Biblical grounding for journey 

Travelling together

 Doing hard things

Walking Together Toward Courageous Love

Our Horizon, Values, and Stepping Stones

Our Horizon

Our Values

Mutual Accompaniment: without condescension or proselytizing, we journey together, sharing bread as each one of us is changed through this sacred encounter. we move together in spiritual and transformational friendship.

Agency and Dignity: we seek to honor the unique voices, practices, and memories of all created beings, seeing one another as participants and co-creators in God’s creative and ressurective action.

Integrity: we attend to our words and actions, seeking and learning, so that our practices embody our values, our witness becoming more whole, through mutual accountability, evaluation, transparency and shared respect.

Wisdom from the Edges: trusting in the presence of God in all life, particularly in the ones whom the world would sacrifice, we connect the edges of the community with our own pushed aside, buried, and silenced edges, opening wild imagination, courage and resilient capacity for new life.

Honesty and Humility: courageously and compassionately, we seek to bring our whole selves and shared life into conversations and challenges, naming hard things and seeking to understand, as we trust god to waste nothing in the nurturing of community.

Our Stepping Stones

Scripture and Spiritual Practice: team meetings, community gatherings, educational ventures, and shared actions begin with spiritual grounding. Leaders are rooted in the life-giving stories and symbols of the ancestors.

Shared Power and Respect: all people, lay and ordained, are recognized as part of the priesthood of all believers and collaboration is central to our work at every level.

Sustainability: our collective work aims to be thoughtful and durable, not oriented to quick fixes. Financially, ecologically, spiritually, and physically we seek to serve not only the living but also the seventh generation.

Story: our mission is rooted in our authentic stories and we listen for the ways God’s liberating story moves within them. Acting out of the depth of our stories, we seek to build a wild web of relationship, rooted in God’s justice and peace.

Siblings: we seek deep connection not only with other Lutherans, but with Christians or every tradition, interfaith partners and people who claim no faith tradition.

Shameless, Fearless Innovation: we experiment, collaborate, dream dreams and see visions. We dare to make mistakes, fall down,  and get up again.

About the Oregon Synod

The Oregon Synod is one of the 65 synods of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America. The ELCA is a community of faith that shares a passion for making positive changes in the world. Our faith is built around a strong belief in God, as made known in Jesus Christ. Through service, advocacy, worship, and education, we practice our faith, grow in our relationship with God, and experience God’s grace in our lives.

Here in Oregon we are over 30,000 some Lutherans in 111 congregations (including Trinity Lutheran in Tulelake, CA.) We welcome you everywhere we are, and we thank you for helping make the world a better place for everybody.

Curious about how the synod operates?  Check out our Oregon Synod Organization Chart.

Reconciling in Christ

The Oregon Synod voted to become a Reconciling in Christ Synod in 2005, welcoming individuals of all races, cultural backgrounds, sexual orientations, identities and marital status. More and more Oregon congregations are spending time in prayer and conversation so as to better understand the needs of those who have felt excluded from Christian community in the past.  You can search for Reconciling in Christ congregations throughout the country here.


The Oregon Synod was the first synod in the ELCA to designate itself as a “Sanctuary Synod” through a vote in 2016. In partnership with the ELCA’s AMMPARO program, Oregon’s Interfaith Movement for Immigrant Justice (IMIrJ) and a focused network of local immigration experts we work for safety, respect, welcome and work for all people.