

Positions for Election at 2024 Assembly

Synod Council:

Blue Mountain Cluster: 3 year term - 2 term limit

One position open to all genders, lay or rostered.

Incumbent, Andrew Morris, Grace and Mercy, Hermiston

is running for a second term.

Mt. Tabor/Plum 3 year term - 2 term limit

One position open to all genders, lay or rostered.

Rose Cluster: 3 year term - 2 term limit

One position open to all genders, lay or rostered. Position is vacant. Jon Erickson (currently Sunset

Cluster), is running for this position as his second term.

Sunset Cluster: 3 year term - 2 term limit

One position open to all genders, lay or rostered.

Position is vacant

Mt Hood Cluster: 3 year term - 2 term limit

One position open to all genders, lay or rostered.

Position is vacant

At Large #2: 3 year term - 2 term limit

One position open to woman or gender expansive, lay or rostered, and identifies either as a person of color or

whose primary language is other than English.

Incumbent, Marilyn Keller, Augustana, Portland is running

for a second term.

At Large #3: 3 year term - 2 term limit

One position open to all genders, lay or rostered.

Position is vacant

Endowment Board: 3 year term- 2 term limit

Three positions open on a nine-member board.

Position 1) Open to man or gender expansive, lay only.

Incumbent, Pablo Ramirez, is running for a second term

Position 2) Open to man or gender expansive, lay only.

Position 3) Open to any gender, lay or ordained.

2025 Churchwide Assembly Voting Members

The Oregon Synod of the ELCA can send a total of eight voting members for the 2025 Churchwide Assembly in Phoenix, AZ to be held in late July-early August of 2025. The synod sends Bishop Laurie Larson Caesar and Synod Vice-President Paul Stromberg as ex officio voting members as well as six voting members who will be elected at 2024 Synod Assembly, Saturday June 1. All travel expenses for voting members will be covered.

Composition of voting members

The composition of the voting members elected by each synod for service at the Churchwide Assembly must reflect the representational principles of this denomination:

- At least 60 percent of the voting members shall be laypersons
- As nearly as possible, at least 45% shall be women and, as nearly as possible, at least 45% shall be men. The percentage of laypersons that is not allocated to women or men may be allocated to persons who identify as gender expansive.

- About 40 percent or fewer shall be rostered ministers (pastors or deacons) and shall include both women and men.
- Of the total six, two shall be youth or young adults (aged 15-29 at the time of elections).
- Of the total six, two shall be people of color or those whose primary language is other than English.

Selection process

Voting members of the Oregon Synod Assembly will receive nominee biographies ahead of the assembly in their participant guide, and at the assembly, will vote for their top six candidates. The Synod Assembly Elections Committee will rank the nominees in order of votes received to fulfill our demographic requirements. In the event of a tie, a lottery will be used to rank those tied nominees. Results of elections will be shared with the synod via email in the week following elections.