Synod Council

The Oregon Synod Council is a community of leaders elected by our membership to be about the work of active ministry and renewal. This page is your gateway to information, documentation and council initiatives. The Synod Council works under the oversight of our Oregon Synod Assembly, which is the highest legislative body for the ELCA here in Oregon. Available minutes and council documentation is available through links listed in the right hand column. 

Council Members:

(Listed by year their term expires)


  • Becky Brown, secretary
  • Deborah Chenoweth, vice-president
  • Bruce Anderson, lay Blue Mountain Cluster
  • Monika Deitchman, lay Mt. Hood Cluster
  • Bonnie Beadles-Bohling, lay PLUM Cluster
  • Joel Overlund, lay Sunset Cluster
  • Rachel Kramer, lay at-large


  • Marie Wehage, lay Crater Lake Cluster
  • Kris Doversberger, lay Oregon Trail Cluster
  • Marilyn Halvor, lay South Coast Cluster
  • Adam Morace, OLYO representative
  • Barbara Punch, clergy High Desert Cluster
  • Kim Hester, clergy at-large
  • Susan Doyle, lay Rose Cluster


  • Lori Blake, clergy at-large
  • Karl Hester, clergy Vineyard Cluster
  • Stan Ihori, lay at-large
  • Ron McCallum, clergy Columbia Coast Cluster
  • Nicole Poole, young adult representative
  • Andrea Robideau, lay at-large
  • Daniel Schlewitz, clergy Emerald Cluster


  • Grieg Anderson, treasurer