Nominations 2018

Oregon Synod Assembly 2018 – Nomination Needs

The following positions are open in the Oregon Synod. Active members in good standing of Oregon Synod congregations are invited to submit nominations. Nominations are until through Thursday, May 17. The Oregon Synod Assembly for 2018 is Saturday, May 19, 2018.

You may submit your nominations online by clicking here. Please be sure you have permission of the person you are nominating!



  (Synod Council Member Position Description here.)

  • Sunset Cluster – Clergy  (Pr. David Eppelsheimer has completed 1 term and is eligible for a second.)

  • Mt. Hood Cluster – Lay Male  (Greg Shea has completed 1 term and is eligible for a second.)

  • PLUM Cluster – Lay Male 

  • Blue Mountain Cluster – Lay Female

  • Member at Large – Person of Color or whose language is other than English

  • Member at Large – Lay, Male or Female


(The Churchwide Assembly will be August  5-10, 2019 in Milwaukee, WI)

  • The Oregon Synod is allowed 9 Voting Members at the Assembly, two of whom are the Synod VP and Bishop
  • Two of the remaining 7 slots may be fill by Pastors or Deacons.
  • One slot is reserved for a Youth or Young Adult 
  • One slot is reserved for a Person of Color or whose Primary Language is other than English.

When nominating Churchwide Assembly Voting Members do not worry about gender/age etc.
Just nominate them for a Voting Member Position. The Elections Committee will work out the rest.


The Endowment Board is responsible for the management of the Oregon Synod Endowment Fund, the Allert Fund for Leaders, Investment of Synod Reserves, and oversight of the Oregon Synod Endowment education and consultation program. Two slot on the Board are open. The current Board is bringing nominations for these two positions, but the synod as a whole is also eligible to make nominations.


(The Discipline Committee deals with possible issues of congregation or member discipline as described in Chapter 20 of the ELCA Constitution. Terms are two years and members should have the highest degree of faith, compassion, clarity of thought and confidentiality. This Committee meets only as needed and has not been required to meet in the last 12 years.)

  • Clergy/Deacon Member – Two Members needed, Male or Female 

  • Lay Member – Four Members needed, Male or Female 


  • Blue Mountain Cluster – Two Vacancies

  • Crater Lake Cluster – One Vacancy. (Janice Hamann is completing her term, eligible to serve a second.)

  • Columbia Coast Cluster – Two Vacancies

  • High Desert Cluster – Two Vacancies. (Carol Triplett Weberg is completing her term, eligible to serve a second.)

  • Mt. Hood Cluster – Two Vacancies

  • Mt. Tabor Cluster – One Vacancy

  • PLUM Cluster – Two Vacancies

  • Rose Cluster – One Vacancy

  • Vineyard Cluster – One Vacancy