SYNOD COUNCIL2021-07-23T14:37:25-07:00


The Oregon Synod Council is a community of leaders elected by our membership to be about the work of active ministry and renewal. This page is your gateway to information, documentation and council initiatives. The Synod Council works under the oversight of our Oregon Synod Assembly, which is the highest legislative body for the ELCA here in Oregon.

2021 Council Members

Bishop Laurie Larson Caesar (2019-2025)


Vice President: Greg Shea (2019-2023), Trinity, Gresham

Secretary: Deacon Sue Best (2019-2023), Augustana, Portland

Treasurer: Mark Dickman (2018-2022), Immanuel, Silverton

Cluster Representatives

Blue Mountain: Laurie Hackney (2018-2021), Christ the King, Milton-Freewater

Columbia Coast: Julie Burpee (2020-2023), Peace First, Astoria

Crater Lake: Gene Obie, Ascension, Medford (2016-2022)

Emerald: Becky Shurson (2020-2023), Central, Eugene

High Desert: Betty Roppe, (2019-2022), Our Saviors, Prineville

Mt.Hood: Steven Larson (2021-2024), Zion, The Dalles

Mt. Tabor: Rev. Elizabeth Larsen (2019-2022), St. Mark’s Portland

Oregon Trail: Rev. Lorin Darst (2016-2022), Macksburg, Canby

PLUM: Leif Rustvold (2018-2021), Bethlehem, Portland

Rose: Andrew Ross    Rose (2016-2022), St. Luke, Portland

Southern Coast: Mary Shultz (2020-2022), Gloria Dei, Coos Bay

Sunset: Jon Erickson, (2021-2024), Spirit of Grace Beaverton

Vineyard: Rev. Leah Stolte-Doerfler (2020-2023), Immanuel, Silverton

Members at Large

Mary Karter (2016-2022), Gethsemane, Portland

Young Adult Representative

Vicky Hart (2020-2023), Zion, La Grande

Youth Representative

Clara Christensen (2021-2024), Central, Eugene

Churchwide Liaison

Rev. Linda Nou